The GSA Council, Trustees & Governance

GSA Council 

The Association Council is the policy setting body of the Association, It seeks to hold officers to account and to shape the future policy of the organisation.

Council is open for any postgraduate student to attend. Meetings are generally monthly and last for about two hours.

There are a number of elected positions on it. More details are available in the GSA constitution.

GSA Council 2018/19

Council Chair – Daniel Lock – chair@yorkgsa.org

Communities Officer – Maha Naeem – communities@yorkgsa.org

Events Officer – Sofia Sarabia – events@yorkgsa.org

Sports Officer – Kate Densley – sports@yorkgsa.org

Volunteering Officer – Neil Cox – volunteering@yorkgsa.org

Colleges Officer – Veerle Kappen – colleges@yorkgsa.org

Equality Officer – Sarah Wright – equality@yorkgsa.org

Faculty Rep (Arts and Humanities) – Miguel Santos – facultyrep-artsandhumanities@yorkgsa.org

Faculty Rep (Sciences) – Rounak Ghosh – facultyrep-sciences@yorkgsa.org

Faculty Rep (Social Sciences) – Killy Zhao – facultyrep-socialsciences@yorkgsa.org

Trustee Board

The Trustee Board is responsible for ensuring the financial stability of the GSA and that none of the decisions made by the Association or Executive are illegal in nature. The board meets at least once every academic term unless certain issues require otherwise.

The Board is responsible for overseeing the administration and management of the Association, including the budget of the Association (subject to approval of the University if required under the Education Act 1994), management, and staffing of the Association.

The composition of the Board is:

  • All the Principal Officers of the Association (ex officio)
  • Three Student Trustees, elected to the Board from the membership of the GSA
  • Three appointed External Trustees (appointed for three-year terms of office)